Python & Java Exams!

Python & Java Exams!

ยท

5 min read

I have not shared further project development due to being busy with a load of assignments in preparation for my Java exam. My focus was 100% in readings, project assignments, and making sure I was ready for our timed exam. ๐Ÿ˜“

Since I have not written about anything these last weeks and still mentally recovering, finishing up readings, and getting back on track with planning side projects as well... I thought I would share what my exams have been for both Python and Java. Please forgive all the "I"s in this one as it is a more personal post rather than explaining a project and in no means an academic paper (thank goodness I was done with those years ago)! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Our exam is timed and split into 3 levels. The levels are not much different from one another but each has added challenges. We have 24 hours to complete the exam as indicated in the wireframe for an orange belt. If we do it within 5 hours then we get a red belt. If we manage to add the extra functionalities in the wireframe, finish within 5 hours and then deploy our project within 24 hours then we earn a black belt. To deploy, we have to learn AWS deployment on our own as part of the black belt so we would need to prepare for this prior to the timed exam. Our skill has to be at least proficient to be able to pass. If we went above and beyond on specifications, we could acquire mastery points.

Python Exam

That said, how did I do back in Python? This was my first stack and I was extremely nervous. I was successful with the review project which incorporated a lot of the exam requirements and even managed to deploy it for practice!

On the exam, I received a Red Belt and finished within 5 hours. I was unable to deploy it as I ran into errors. I decided to retake the exam to try and deploy. This meant an entire new wireframe which I again finished within 5 hours. A total of 6 more deployment attempts, all from scratch, somehow ran into errors and when I got to the point of opening up my public IP in the AWS instance my project was not there. After a lot of failed AWS troubleshooting, I decided to take my Red Belt and call it a win. ๐Ÿฅณ

What exactly did my Python Red Belt show I can do? I completed a full stack project with all CRUD functions using MySQL, Python OOP, Flask MVC, and included Login & Registration using validations, Regex, Bcrypt, and session.

Mastery was accomplished in 7 out of 14 grading objectives. ๐Ÿ™Œ

Java Exam

For my Java exam, I was worried about not having sufficient time to practice assignments. I completed all our core assignments, truly focusing on the last complete core assignment which served as my review project. I incorporated extra features on that assignment to help me prepare for the exam. Although Java was difficult to learn in the beginning and I had my doubts every week, I managed to feel better about the exam during this stack. We have had an amazing instructor and the concepts were explained thoroughly each week. I mainly worried about being able to debug an error in time if I had not seen it before. In comparison to Python I have had less errors in Java but the small amount of errors were hard to decipher until I started to understand what Java yells at me about with the help of some amazing Teacher Assistants.

On the Java exam, I also finished within 5 hours and received a Red Belt. This time around, I decided I would not try deploying the exam project. I am going to study it this week and attempt a Java deployment in a calm environment but I did not want it to be part of my exam experience again or I would possibly hate deployment and never want to ever even hear the word my entire career! ๐Ÿ˜‚

For my Java exam, I showed I accomplished a full stack CRUD project using Spring MVC and showed a working knowledge in OOP, routing and JSP rendering with RESTful implementation and session, ORM and MySQL with JPA queries, and included Login and Registration with validations as well as Bcrypt.

Mastery was attained in 6 out of 9 objectives.

What Next?

We all know there is so much more to learn. I myself want to finish my readings on Spring Security and finish a practice assignment using this as well as deploy the project. There are also APIs we can create in Java and I am wanting to learn that as well and put in some practice with it too.

My personal projects are mainly planned for Python but I would like to get some Java projects done once I finished a couple in Python.

For Python, I have my readings for Django but have yet to practice putting together an application using Django so that is on the list.

For the front end, we use either CSS or basic bootstrap in our assignments and focus on making good code that works. So, outside the bootcamp I want to improve my skills and learn how to create beautiful, unique, and responsive designs using Bootstrap Sass.

I also start JavaScript in 2 weeks which is my last stack for the bootcamp. I had the option of choosing 1, 2, or 3 stacks when I signed up for this and I had chosen 3. Being familiar with these languages will be handy for me even when I specialize in one of them. I have seen some companies use a combination as well.

I will recollect where I left off in Java and share a project with you all next week!

ย